Complaints

Our aim is to ensure that you receive a high standard of service from us at all times. However, sometimes things do go wrong or we make mistakes, or our services, or the work of our contractors, isn't up to an acceptable standard - and you may wish to make a complaint. 

We really want to hear from you so that we have the opportunity to put things right when they go wrong.

We encourage all feedback, good and bad and will use it to help improve our services.

We have developed our complaints policy to ensure that we deal with any complaints fairly and effectively.  

If you make a complaint, you will not receive any discrimination or a lesser service as a result.

Read on to find out about our complaints procedure and how you can make a complaint.

Definitions 

What is a complaint?

An expression of dissatisfaction, however made, about the standard of service, actions or lack of action by the organisation, its own staff, or those acting on its behalf, affecting an individual resident or group of residents.

Who is a customer?

A customer is anyone who contacts us to request a service, or is in receipt a service provided by Connexus or any of its subsidiaries. 

Our Promise 

Our promise and aim is to resolve complaints quickly, fairly and effectively. We will:  

  • Seek to learn from any complaints and to improve future service 
  • Ensure that complainants are not discriminated in their future dealings with us as a result of their complaint 
  • Direct the complaint to the appropriate organisation if the complaint relates to matters, not within the responsibility of the Connexus Group 
Our approach 

We hope that in most cases when we get it wrong if you tell us, our colleagues can put it right quickly at feedback stage. Should you remain unhappy with our response, Connexus has a two-stage complaint process, these being:  

  • Complaint 
  • Review 

On occasion, we may immediately escalate your concerns directly to our complaint stage and/or conclude our internal complaint process. We will agree on this directly with you and explain why. 

Feedback - Initial Stage 

When you contact us, we will try and resolve the issue straight away. If this isn’t possible; we’ll tell you who is responsible for handling your feedback and will aim to make contact to acknowledge your feedback and discuss the issue with you by the end of the following working day. If your feedback will take longer to resolve, we’ll let you know and keep you up to date with progress and what to expect from us. We will log your concerns on our complaints and feedback database so it is recorded properly.

 

Read our latest customer feedback from October 2020 to March 2021

October 2020 to March 2021

Your feedback allows us to identify key areas where we need to improve and know what we’re doing well. Despite us always working to deliver good quality services, there will be times where we fall short of. Learning from your feedback is important and so we’ll be carrying out a 6 monthly review, updating you on how we’re getting on.  

Here is our latest breakdown of what you’re telling us. 

October 2020 to March 2021

Number of feedback cases and complaints received

  Oct 20 Nov 20 Dec 20 Jan 21 Feb 21  Mar 21 Total
Feedback 41 41 45 78 55 63 323
Complaint 5 7 10 3 2 5 32
Review 0 1 2 2 1 0 6
Ombudsman 0 0 1 0 0 0 1
Total 46 49 58 83 58 68 362
  • Action (lack of or delay) – 32% 
  • Quality of work/service – 21% 
  • Communication – 10% 
  • Colleague conduct – 12% 
  • Policy or procedure 7% 
  • Other – 18% 

Here are just a few of the ways we have learnt from your feedback: 

  • We have implemented a new complaints policy and procedure, which was effective from Jan 2021.
  • A new appointment booking method was put in place to reduce the number of cancelled/missed appointments.

Do what we say we will – A simple, but clear message from the feedback is that we need to do what we say we will, in particular around calling our customers back.  To address this, Senior Management Team has agreed to use one system  (CX) as the main system to record customer call back requests and is due to be used from Dec-21.  Two ‘Ways of Working’ meetings have taken place to cascade this message and currently individual meetings are taking place to better understand the needs of each business area and training requirements.  Once complete, this will be a significant step forward that will enable all colleagues from around the business to see when an interaction with the customer has taken place and associated actions taken

Keeping customers informed – A cascade to all colleagues via the monthly Chief Exec update has made  clear that all colleagues have a responsibility to keep customers informed.  More work on this is required and it was identified at Senior Management Team that some colleagues lacked confidence when dealing with particularly difficult or challenging situations.  To that end training for colleagues was developed in conjunction with Learning and Development and sessions delivered to 69 colleagues.  Additional sessions are planned in November 2021.

We encourage all feedback from customers and have developed the Complaints Policy along with the complaints procedure to ensure that we deal with complaints effectively and fairly. 

For more information on our complaint process, Complaints Policy or details on how to make a complaint contact our Customer Service team. 

Complaint - Stage 1 

When you make a complaint, we’ll send you an acknowledgement in writing within five working days from receipt.

Our Complaints Manager will investigate the matter and you will receive a full response within 10 days of the original complaint unless we agree with you to extend this.

The Complaints Manager will discuss the complaint with you to understand what you feel has gone wrong, investigate the matters raised and confirm the outcome of our investigations with you before we put this in writing.

We’ll keep a record of our contact with you and correspondence about your complaint in our database.

If we conclude our investigation into your complaint and you are not happy with the outcome, you can ask for a senior manager to review your complaint.

You can also contact the Housing Ombudsman at any time to help you when making a complaint to us. Their details are in the section below.

Review - Stage 2 

The review is the final stage of our complaints procedure. We will confirm your request to escalate your complaint in writing, within five working days of the request.

The Senior Manager will review all the information gathered, conduct their own investigation into the matter and discuss the complaint with you to understand what you feel has gone wrong.

At this stage, we will invite one of our involved customers to work directly with us to provide an independent view of the issues you have raised. This helps us to ensure that we are fully considering all parties perspective. If you would rather that an involved customer did not take part in the review stage, you have the right to decline this.

They will confirm the outcome in writing within 20 working days of receipt of your request, unless we have mutually agreed to extend this timescale – usually by no more than ten days unless there is a genuine reason to do so

Before you receive the outcome in writing, the Senior Manager will discuss their findings with you in order that you have a chance to respond.

If upon conclusion of our investigation into your complaint, you do not feel that Connexus has resolved the complaint satisfactorily, you have the right to refer your complaint to the Housing Ombudsman Service (details below) or where applicable to the relevant regulatory authority. We will confirm this in our response.

 We’ll keep a record of our contact with you and correspondence about your complaint in our database.

The Housing Ombudsman Service 

 

You can contact the Housing Ombudsman directly by clicking here.

They will encourage you to make a complaint direct to your landlord, but you can contact them at any time as they can help you make your complaint.

If at the end of our complaint process, you feel that we have not resolved your complaint, you can complain to the Housing Ombudsman. This should be within 12 months of reaching the end of our complaints process.

You can complain directly to them eight weeks after we have sent you our final response, or you can contact a designated person straight away. A designated person can help resolve the complaint in one of two ways; by trying to resolve the complaint themselves or by referring the complaint straight to the Ombudsman. More details on designated persons are available here

The Housing Ombudsman will investigate how we have handled your complaint and if the Ombudsman feels we’ve done something wrong, they will decide what needs to be done to put things right.

Once the Housing Ombudsman have started their investigation, we will not try to resolve your complaint directly with you, unless the Ombudsman asks us to.

How do I make a complaint?

You can make a complaint in a number of ways as listed below –whatever works best for you. You can also appoint a representative to act on your behalf – we just want to hear this from you first.

If you want to make a complaint you can:

  • Send a letter - Connexus, The Gateway, The Auction Yard, Craven Arms, SY7 9BW
  • Email - hello@connexus-group.co.uk
  • Post via social media - @weareconnexus
  • Tell us via telephone - 03332 31 32 33 or in-person, when you see one of our team
  • Use our online form below

Please be as specific as possible about what the issue is and who has been involved, as this will help us investigate quickly.

Designated Persons 

Designated persons are local councillors or members of parliament. Information can be found on your local Council's website. You can contact a designed person to review your complaint. Usually this will be once you have exhausted our complaints process or you are still unhappy with the decision made by Connexus. 

Ok - so how do I make a complaint or compliment? 

Complaints can be made in any format, these include: 

  • letter - Connexus, The Gateway, Craven Arms, SY7 9BW
  • e-mail - hello@connexus-group.co.uk
  • social media - @weareconnexus
  • via telephone - 03332 31 32 33
  • or in-person

If you would like to make a compliment or complaint about a member of staff or one of our services, please complete the form below.

Please include any names in your compliment to enable us to pass this on to the right person.  

Please be as specific as possible about your complaint, this makes it easier for us to investigate. 

Address
What best describes you?
One file only.
32 MB limit.
Allowed types: gif, jpg, png, bmp, eps, tif, pict, psd, txt, rtf, html, odf, pdf, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, xls, xlsx, xml, avi, mov, mp3, ogg, wav, bz2, dmg, gz, jar, rar, sit, svg, tar, zip.